Skip to content

It’s been a long time for hiking!

June 5, 2010

 

My better half has been deployed to Iraq for over seven months so I haven’t had a chance to do much hiking.  He came home for his R&R and decided that hiking was one of top things to do on his list.  Since he only had two weeks and we had limited time for camping we decided on a local trip to John Bryan and Clifton. 

 

Close to the beginning of summer is a great time to visit John Bryan.  The trails are practically covered by a canopy of leaves and the rushing waters and small waterfalls are a beautiful sight to see.  We hiked a little over 2 miles since I recently found out I have a slipped disc, but I still enjoyed the short hike. There are plenty of great spots to capture the waterfalls and views from the bridge before Clifton. 

We visited Clifton Gorge the day before Memorial day and the park was packed.  I really like Clifton since it is a great spot for scenic overlooks.  It’s also a great park for people who aren’t avid hikers but love nature.  We saw a group of young people scale down the cliffs and were swimming in the water.  Not the brightest thing to do considering the fast moving falls and it is rather slippery on the rocks at the edges of the overlooks.  We got some great shots and I even took a small video on my Cannon Power Shot SX10.   I think I will practice more with the video setting for future trips. 

My better half is headed back to finish his deployment but luckily he will be done in August so I will probably be camping and hiking again by the end of the summer. 

Have a great summer and get out there and hike!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 5, 2010 8:59 pm

    I love John Bryan. It is one of the best places to get outdoors in the Dayton area and a great place to shoot photos/video. Check out my fall photo shoot from a while back:

    Thanks for sharing!

  2. Julie Andel permalink*
    June 5, 2010 9:10 pm

    Thanks for sharing your set of photos too! Some great fall shots!

Leave a Reply

