Skip to content

Winter Hike in John Bryan State Park

January 13, 2011

Todd and I love to hike in John Bryan year round. Winter is a beautiful time of the year to hike in the park! The trails are pretty snow packed but still well traveled. The hike is a little more work than during other times of the year, but well worth the effort. We managed quite a workout after taking one of the main roads back from the trails and found that deep snow is much more difficult to walk in than snow packed trails. The park staff shuts down some of the other parking areas so that visitors can cross-country ski and take advantage of the sledding on some of the hills and road ways.

I managed to get some cool winter shots with my new monopod and I hope you enjoy them! Now get out there and hike!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 18, 2011 5:38 pm

    What monopod do you have? I ended up getting a MountainSmith trekking pole/monopod, which I have yet to try out. It will definitely go with me on my backpacking trip to the Rockies in May!

    • Julie Andel permalink*
      March 18, 2011 6:03 pm

      I have a Promaster 6778 1100 Monopod. It’s reasonably priced and is a lifesaver when you are on the trails with your camera. Yesterday it helped me when I was using my new Canon with a telephoto lens. I haven’t tested it with lower light levels but either way it helps stabilize my shots!

Leave a Reply

